Facebook Privacy – How to Secure Your Account
If you have a Facebook account, chances are you saw a viral post believed by many to serve as a disclaimer to protect their Facebook content and interactions. Here’s how the post read:
As of September 28th , 2015 at 10:50p.m. Eastern Standard Time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.
While Facebook was quick to respond and debunk the rumor, which has circulated for a few years now, it’s a great reminder to everyone who uses Facebook to review their privacy settings. Here are a few tips to help ensure you are only sharing information and pictures with those who you wish to share.
1. Who you share status updates with
2. A list of the apps that are connected to your Facebook profile (such as Pinterest or Instagram) and what is shared by each of those apps
3. How personal information from your profile (such as your phone number and email) is shared.
As a rule of thumb, we recommend your setting to be set to “Friends Only” to avoid sharing your information with strangers. You can confirm that all of your future posts will be visible to “Friends Only” by reselecting the padlock and clicking “Who can see my stuff?” then select “What do other people see on my timeline” and review the differences between your public and friends only profile.
Of note, the first option under “Who can see my stuff?” only refers to your future posts. To avoid having to go back and updating the visibility on your past posts, click the “See More Settings.” Once there, you will see an option to “Limit Past Posts.” Clicking “Limit Past Posts” will default all of your past posts to the updated privacy setting you just selected.
For more information about maintaining privacy in the social world of Facebook, visit: https://www.facebook.com/about/basics/.